What to do with those pumpkin guts

After you carved the pumpkin and pulled out all the pumpkin guts, what should you do with them? Throw it away NOOOOOOO

I like to think that I a pretty resourceful and try to get my money worth of EVERYTHING that I buy. I am not going to spend money on a pumpkin to carve it and throw it away. So two years ago I looked up what to with the pumpkin pulp. Here are the two things I do:

Pumpkin seeds. That’s obvious right. Lol I like to roast the seeds and add them to salads or have them as a snack.

First you have to rinse the seeds to separate the seeds from the stringy pulpThen lay them on a paper towel and dry them out. I leave them out for hours until they are completely dryThen I spice them up I normally just use a little sea salt & olive oil in a preheated 300 degree oven for 30 min. ALL DONEHere are some other flavor combos you can try:

Sweet Toss with cinnamon and sugar (just skip the salt)

Indian Toss with garam masala; mix with currants after roasting.

Spanish Toss with smoked paprika; mix with slivered almonds after roasting.

Italian Toss with grated parmesan and dried oregano.

Barbecue Toss with brown sugar, chipotle chile powder and ground cumin.

I also use the pulp for pumpkin puree duh! The carving pumpkins pulp will not be as flavorful as the little pumpkin but you can still use it. I add the pulp to pumpkin breads it adds that extra pumpkin umph your bread needs.

THANK ME LATER

Shay's Portal

Shay’s Portal

One thought on “What to do with those pumpkin guts

Leave a Reply

