How to Carve the Perfect Pumpkin

Halloween is less than two weeks away. So now is the perfect time to get your pumpkins ready. I love going to the pumpkin patch with my son. I let him pick out his “perfect pumpkin” and I pick out mine. Here are few tips that has helped me make the “perfect jack o’ lantern”.

Pumpkin Patch

Pumpkin Patch

FIRST, it all starts with the perfect pumpkin. I look for one that is sturdy with a flat bottom (so that it doesn’t tilt after being carved) and a sturdy stem. It also needs to be bruise free.

Looking for the perfect pumpkin

Looking for the perfect pumpkin

We think we found one.

We think we found one or two.

Start at the TOP

When cutting the lid I use a boning knife, and cut at an angle. If you cut it up and down when you go to put the lid back it will fall right into the pumpkin (learned that the hard way).

Get to SCOOPING

                This is the messiest part of the job, but it is so necessary. I use an ice cream scoop and get ALL and I do mean ALLLL the pumpkin guts out (my son thinks it’s funny when I say pumpkin guts).  Make sure to scrape the sides too. The less the wall the easier it is for carving. DON’T THROW AWAY THE GUTS (CLICK HERE)

CARVING time

I normally let me son draw the face he wants me to carve on his pumpkin and I will do all the knife work. I hold the pumpkin on my lap at an angle.

ALL DONE

Once you masterpiece is all done. I saw this trick about two years ago to rub Vaseline on all the edges to hold on the moisture. If your pumpkin is starting to shrivel up, try submerging face down in cold water for about 8 hours

pumpkin-patch1

 

I would love to see some of you guys pumpkins. share them with me.

Shay's Portal

Shay’s Portal

Leave a Reply

